I2M overview

The Marseille Institute of Mathematics (I2M, UMR 7373) is a Joint CNRS / Aix-Marseille University / Centrale Marseille research unit. It has around 130 teacher-researchers, around 30 CNRS researchers, around 15 technical and administrative staff, around 60 doctoral students and around 20 post-doctoral researchers.
The I2M is the result of the merger, on January 1, 2014, of LATP (Laboratory of Analysis, Topology and Probability) and IML (Luminy Institute of Mathematics). Its scientific structure is based on five groups:

which cover a wide spectrum of pure and applied mathematics, as well as a large number of application fields (scientific or industrial). See the 2016 activity report (pages 177 to 188).
The I2M is mainly located at three sites: the Center for Mathematics and Computer Science in Château Gombert, and the Luminy campus are the two main sites (premises are also used on the St Charles campus).
The I2M is involved in many national and international research and action projects, and is a partner of the Archimedes institute, AMIDEX and the Jean-Morlet Chair. It is also a member of the Marseille Mathematics Unit Research Federation (FRUMAM), the French Mathematical Society (SMF) and the Applied and Industrial Mathematics Society (SMAI).

Posters presenting the scientific activities of the I2M in PDF (versions from february 2021)

Poster for printing
in A2 or A3

  Synthetic sheet for printing
in A3 (more detailed)
Français /English
Français /English


Posters presenting some research carried out at I2M



Fabienne CASTELL

JPEG - 14 ko

JPEG - 11.1 ko
Bérangère CARRON

JPEG - 4.8 ko
Chief of staff
Management team and administrative & technical staff : see Contacts.


mathematics youtube channel



Presentation of the I2M for the HCERES commission (nov. 2016)
Detailed presentation of the I2M (slides of COS 2015)

History of the management:
from September 1, 2020:
Peter HAÏSSINSKY (acting director), Fabienne CASTELL (assistant director), Laurent REGNIER (assistant director), Bérangère CARRON (unit administrator).

from January 1, 2018 to August 31, 2020:
Pascal HUBERT (director), Fabienne CASTELL (assistant director), Laurent REGNIER (assistant director), Sandrine MEILEN (2018, unit administrator) and Bérangère CARRON (2019-2020, unit administrator).
from September 1, 2015 to December 31, 2017:
Raphaèle HERBIN (director), Michel BOILEAU (assistant director), Anne PICHON, (assistant director), Hélène VICQ (unit administrator).
from January 1, 2014 to August 31, 2015 :
Bruno TORRESANI (director), Serge TROUBETZKOY (assistant director), Brigitte MOUROT (unit administrator).

Retour en haut 

Secured By miniOrange