Aspects of Non-Positive and Negative Curvature in Group Theory (ANR DAGGER)

CIRM, Luminy, Marseille

Date(s) : 17/06/2019 - 21/06/2019   iCal
0 h 00 min


This conference will focus on applications of non-positive and negative curvature to geometric group theory. The most well known examples of this are δ-hyperbolic and CAT(0)-groups. More recently, some of the techniques that have been used to study these groups have been imported to study groups that have some features of negative curvature but aren’t themselves negatively curved. For example, the mapping class group is neither δ-hyperbolic nor CAT(0) but major progress has been obtained in on our understanding of this group by studying its action on the δ-hyperbolic curve complex. A related group is Out(Fn), the group of automorphisms of the rank n free group and similar program is underway to understand it. More generally, large classes of groups have been identified that have certain features of negative curvature and this has been exploited to prove results which were heretofore only known in special cases. This conference will bring together a distinguished international group of mathematicians to report on current work and to explore future directions in this active and expanding area of research.

The conference will also be an opportunity to celebrate the Mladen Bestvina’s contributions to mathematics.

– Yael Algom-Kfir (University of Haifa)
– Martin Bridson (University of Oxford)
– Indira Chatterji (Université Nice Sophia Antipolis)
– Matt Clay (University of Arkansas)
– Mark Feighn (Rutgers-Newark University)
– Koji Fujiwara (Kyoto University)
– Vincent Guirardel (Université de Rennes 1)
– Ursula Hamenstädt (Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-University Bonn)
– Camille Horbez (CNRS / Université Paris-Sud)
– Kasia Jankiewicz (University of Chicago)
– Fanny Kassel (CNRS / IHES)
– Ian Leary (University of Southampton)
– Lars Louder (University College London)
– Frédéric Paulin (Université Paris-Sud)
– Beatrice Pozzetti (Heidelberg University)
– Piotr Przytycki (McGill University)
– Eliyahu Rips (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
– Zlil Sela (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
– Alessandro Sisto (ETH Zurich)
– Juan Souto (Université de Rennes 1)
– Karen Vogtmann (University of Warwick)
– Shmuel Weinberger (University of Chicago)

– Kenneth Bromberg (University of Utah)
Arnaud Hilion (I2M, Aix-Marseille Université)
– Ilya Kazachkov (IKERBASQUE. Basque Foundation for Science)
– Michah Sageev (Technion – Israel Institute of Technology)
– Jing Tao (University of Oklahoma)


Centre International de Rencontres Mathématiques (CIRM)
European Research Council (ERC)
Institut de Mathématiques de Marseille (I2M)
LabEx Archimède
National Science Foundation (NSF)


Autre lien : CIRM

CIRM, Luminy


Retour en haut 

Secured By miniOrange